A Start



Sometimes I have trouble starting things.  Like blog posts.  Then I watch this and I feel better, though sometimes I still don’t get started.  Sometimes I watch this, feel better, abandon my current project and get started doing something I like more, like reading a book or napping or writing an odd little poem about my coworker who clips his fingernails in his cubicle.  Sometimes for me getting unstuck requires abandoning all hope of progress until I simply can’t avoid it for another second.

Writing is 90 percent procrastination: reading magazines, eating cereal out of the box, watching infomercials. It’s a matter of doing everything you can to avoid writing, until it is about four in the morning and you reach the point where you have to write.

PAUL RUDNICK, from Advice to Writers

I’m thankful that I have school to prod me along and make me write when I don’t want to.  And you fine people who start such beautiful, diverting discussions that remind me why I do this in the first place.

3 thoughts on “A Start

  1. ZeFrank is a big ball of energy I’d love to have jump between my legs. Now that that is out of the way… Diversion, pleasure, struggle, and procrastination are my biggest motivators as a writer. Given complete, predictable bliss I’d have nothing to write about and no reason to write it. Love the video, love the quote. Thanks for this post!

Leave a Reply

